Outward Adornment

“Your beauty should not come from outward adornment, such as braided hair and the wearing of gold jewelry and fine clothes. Instead, it should be that of your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight.”

I Peter 3:3-4 (NIV)

I think about these verses a lot. I started this blog because I really enjoy fashion and I wanted an outlet for that beyond just dressing myself on a daily basis. I’m really excited to continue on, and I have a lot of ideas for future posts. But still I want to be mindful of these verses: verses that don’t forbid putting thought into your outward appearance, as some believe, but instead warn against finding your identity in your outward appearance.

I plan to write every post from the perspective that no amount of time in front of a mirror or camera can make me beautiful or give me value. My value comes from the fact that I am fearfully and wonderfully made by God (Psalm 139:14). My identity is that of his beloved child (1 John 3:1) and that knowledge gives me so much peace of mind.

But anyway…

Here are a couple outfits that I wore this past weekend. Everything came from American Eagle, except the wedges, which I bought at Marshall’s two years ago.

20170417_172958

We went to a brewery last Saturday and this is what I wore. I really love these groovy high-waisted flares and I actually just bought another pair. Everything comes back, baby! 

20170416_083828

Easter Sunday outfit! I’m sure this jeans jacket will make many appearances in this blog because I wear it ALL THE TIME. It’s one of my favorite wardrobe staples–super comfy and goes with almost everything I own. Full disclosure: those curls lasted about an hour thanks to humid Georgia weather. But look how cute they were! (Also, sorry for the smudgy mirror and bad lighting.)

 That’s all for today.

Peace,

J.C.

Leave a Reply

